Koffee with Knute, the “Nordic Sow”

The Nordic Sow is finally reveled, as the one and only, Knute O. Brye.

Driving into La Crosse to meet Knute at the Harbor I could hardly keep the car on the road.  Thoughts of what to say, would he be different, what stories should I tell, and is this really happening kept running through my brain.  I got to the harbor and started the coffee.  While wondering if he would be late, I heard some whistling, immediately I knew it was him.  I leaned out the plastic, and as he walked by… I said, “Hey, Knute”, and then it began.  A three and a half hour journey through the past twenty some years, jobs, kids, hobbies, fishing, books, and goals.

If you look up charismatic in the dictionary, I always thought they should put Knute’s picture there.  We named our son Ryan Dennis O. Smalley after Knute O. Brye.  I was named after one of my mother’s best students, so why shouldn’t Ryan… Knute fit that bill.

I am no less than thrilled to have made contact with Knute.  During our coffee moment we talked about deep subjects and then with ease moved into lighter areas, and back to more intense topics.  We talked about the past, and projected our goals for the future.  Knute needs some fishing lessons, and I need a good net man, we should be a great team.

Knute is well read, a thinker, a good communicator, and a doer.  You can’t help but get a bit smarter, a little bit wiser, and motivated to do something, after spending some time with him.

It was truly a good day and I am already looking forward to our next meeting.  No doubt, it too will make the blog.
Captain

This entry was posted in Captain's View. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Koffee with Knute, the “Nordic Sow”

  1. Linda says:

    A big shout out to Knute, who I haven’t seen in years! I had never heard about the contact thing. Now, that’s funny!

    Dennis ~ always enjoy your blogs.

Leave a comment