Heidi and Daniel

Heidi and Daniel, our gracious hosts, knowledgable tour guides, wonderful picnickers, and good friends.  Our daughter, Randi, gave some advice the other day that if you want to communicate an idea and you have the choice between telling and showing, always choose the showing and use visuals.  With so much to say about them, I will choose to use visuals to describe their impact on our trip.   My comments will be made underneath each photo.

Right after arriving on the Island we drove directly to their winter quarters and unloaded our gear.  We congregated in the kitchen, and began our two and half day discussion.  It seemed like we just couldn’t leave the kitchen area with our conversation flowing easily, catching up on the winter activities.  Daniel finally made the first move to the door and we all followed, getting out of the house and on the road.

Heidi stands quiet in her kitchen.  A baker extraordinaire, everyone knows from her Island Bread Company, but she really knows her way around other cuisines.  An oriental roasted pork with rice in a lettuce wrap with two outstanding sauces sealed my vote for her cooking prowess.

Dan’s knowledge of the Island is second to no one.  I’m sure there are others that know the Island as well as Daniel, but I can’t imagine anyone that knows or loves it more.

Heidi is still asking questions and learning about the Island from Daniel.

A life-long resident, Daniel knows a huge amount of the history that surrounds you all over the Island.  Better yet, he is a great story-teller that makes him easy to listen to.  I think this was the First Mate’s favorite part of the trip, listening to Daniel’s history lessons.

The beauty of a fast shutter speed, catching someone between emotions.  No, Heidi is not grumpy like this photo would suggest, on the contrary, she’s very positive, generous, and happy. Heidi points us in the right direction for our next stop.  This is a familiar sight when hanging out with Daniel, his smile.  Infectious and genuine, his smile and laughter tips you off to his love of the Island and life.

I haven’t seen her in the bakery doing her thing, yet, but I can’t imagine her smile any different from her smile shown here.  I’ve eaten her bread, and this girl can really bake!

Inside a replica of an old Church, we relax with stories of its construction and the people who did the work.Outside the old church, Daniel tells the story about finding the rock used for the first step outside the church… of course it fit perfect.If it looks like she’s thinking, then go ahead and think that.  Heidi is a thinker, smart, and easily expresses what’s on her mind.   Her knowledge of animals and plant life really add to the experience.  She introduced us to Ramps, and now I’m on my way to Ramp Pesto!Heidi and Joyce shop the only grocery store on the Island.  It was much more than I expected.Daniel is ready for our next stop.  You can say that the Island is small in size, but it’s huge in things to see.  Beauty is around every corner.

Taking care of the “Girls.”
Holding court, and of course in the kitchen.  It’s all about the food.Getting ready for our picnic on School House Beach.  Cold, a bit of a breeze, but enjoyed every second.  One of my favorite places to be.  Hard cider that Daniel helped to make, cheese, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, fruit, and some of Heidi’s garlic bread… worthy of another blog by itself.   Talk of smooth rocks, an old boat, and seeing Ore Boats take refuge here, made our conversation interesting and never boring.  Plus, two thumbs up on the hard cider.If Daniel will lead, I will follow.  More on this later,  since he has convinced me to return during a busier time.

I caught her in this pondering stance on the shore of Little Lake, and as I ponder our trip it’s the people who make it important.  People like Heidi and Daniel make the Island more than just good scenery.  They provide context, knowledge, and love to an already beautiful place.  If it sounds like I have been bragging them up a bit, in a way I have, but I have been writing about my experiences with them and they have been AWESOME and OUTSTANDING… so that’s what I write about.

Still surrounded in Awesomeness,
Captain

This entry was posted in Captain's View and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment