Prelude to my Fishing Post

Before I write about my Fishing Adventure on Washington Island I would like to make a few comments prior to my actual post.

This is one of the most important events I’ve experienced thus far in my retirement and maybe my life.  The opportunity came about through Daniel and Heidi with the cooperation of Jeff, the boat’s owner and skipper, and fishing partner Dennis.  I was extremely moved by their hospitality, allowing me to peek, for just a day, into their commercial fishing lives.  I am hoping in the following post, that I do justice to the day, and more importantly the men I fished with.

The First Mate, on our ride home, asked me about what I learned on the fishing trip?  My reply was simple, “That is was &^%$# dangerous, and REAL.”  This was just like the TV show, Dangerous Catch, you had to be focused all the time, and there were possible dangers if you let your guard down.  This was not a mock-up or a game.  I never felt like my life was in danger, just that the situation was REAL, and I hung on all the time with at least one hand and paid attention to the Captain and his crew!

Before I leave this post to start the next, I wanted to show you the type of boat we were fishing on.  Shown below is a boat on shore I saw on the way home.  It’s the same style as the C&R in which we ran nets for the elusive Whitefish.

All for now,
Captain

This entry was posted in Captain's View. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment